Skip to content

Dropship Workflow

November 13, 2009

This is a post I made on the Dynamics GP Community forums regarding drop ship workflows.

We dropship 50% of our orders to our customers (if I could make it so it would be 100%).  Our standard workflow is to

  1. Enter the sales order in GP (well we actually do not use GP for our sales order entry process but we used to)
  2. Click the dropship box for the line items that we want to dropship
  3. Click the purchase button that has shown up on the sales order after you save it
  4. From the purchasing window we verify vendor, items, qtys, ship method, and ship to
  5. We create the purchase order
  6. We print the purchase order and fax it to the vendor
  7. We call the vendor by the end of the day to confirm they received the purchase order and get an estimated ship date
  8. After confirmation, we make the assumption that the vendor will get the order sent to the customer in the time frame they gave us
  9. Accounts Payable receives the vendor invoice several days later (once the product has been shipped)
  10. Accounts Payable “Enter/Matches” the vendor invoice to the dropship purchase order
  11. Accounts Payable then sends the invoice to Account Receivable
  12. Accounts Receivable adds the freight to the sales order that the dropship was for (linked to using SOP to POP link)
  13. Accounts Receivable generates an invoice to the customer

This is the workflow that we have found to work best for us.  We run a very lean company with inventory overhead and personnel.  This workflow may or may not work for you but hopefully it will give you a real world example of how someone else does it.

25 Comments
  1. Fernando permalink

    What if I want to place a password to the button D. The problem is that I am new to the system and do not know how to restrict this button

    • Ron permalink

      I am not sure if you can do that out of the box. You will probably require a customization. Do you have a GP partner?

  2. Fernando permalink

    As I mentioned Ron, I’m new at this. Fortunately, with a little ingenuity I found the solution. It is a matter to get to find out about it. A full week of inquiries led me to find it.

    Ms GP> Tools> Settings> System> Field-Level Security

    From there you create a new routine. You create an ID, description, name of the form, name windows, field name and security mode. From there you look for the field you want to configure and make the changes you require.

    By the way, I apologize for my English. Not very good to say.

    Thank you very much anyway. If I have some other problem will gladly come to you.

  3. Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  4. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to know a lot about this, such
    as you wrote the book in it or something. I think
    that you simply could do with some percent to pressure the message
    home a little bit, however instead of that,
    this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  5. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll learn
    many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  6. I tend not tto write a comment, but after reading through a few of the remarks here Dropship Workflow
    | Real Life Dynamic User. I actually do have 2 quesions for you if it’s okay.
    Could it be simply me or do a few of the responses come
    across as if they are coming from brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I’d
    like to follow you. Could you list of the complete urls of all your
    social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  7. I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?

    I’ll check back later onn and see if thee problem
    still exists.

  8. Thhe other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is nnow broken
    and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  9. Hello my friend! I wish to ssay tat this article iis amazing,
    great written and come with approximately all sighnificant
    infos. I would like to see extra posts like this .

  10. This matter was discussed in many other places and we never reached any conclusions.
    We could discuss it until tommorow. Anyway, it is a
    correct viewpoint.

  11. An interesting discussion is worth comment.

    There’s no doubt that that you ought tto publish mokre on tis
    subject matter, it may not be a taboo matter but generally people do not talk
    abouyt these subjects. To the next! Kind regards!!

  12. The Kitchenaid mixer is an additional kitchen appliance that accompany
    various functions which is utilized for mixing all sorts associated with elements whether
    or not thicker as well as slender. It comes with a huge 9 cup work bowl, and is ideal for combining a
    great deal of ingredients at once. It is not fun to try
    to clean bread dough off the bottom of a mixer.

  13. Its not my first time to pay a quick visit this web site, i am visiting this site dailly and
    take fastidious facts from here everyday.

  14. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any suggestions?

  15. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

  16. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before
    but after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I found it and
    I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  17. I do trust all of the ideas you’ve introduced
    to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are too short for novices.
    May just you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thank you for the post.

  18. Often we hear experts on tv that report a specific stock is gonna soar and now
    will be the time to acquire. So unless any business completes
    the formalities and find the necessary certifications they are able to’t start their business.
    A well-developed business plan is a lot like your blueprint for victory.

  19. Hi colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you desire to say on the topic of this piece of writing, in my view its genuinely awesome
    for me.

  20. Now I am ready to do my breakfast, when having my breakfast coming over again to read additional news.

  21. Can I just say what a comfort to uncover somebody
    who genuinely knows what they are talking about over
    the internet. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people have to look at this and understand this
    side of the story. I was surprised you aren’t
    more popular since you definitely have the gift.

  22. Shopper Approved is based on the powerful concept called ‘social proof’, which states that:

    When a potential customer goes online to buy a product or service, they actually want and actively
    look for reassurance that they’re making the right decision. And the way
    they get that assurance is
    from other customers’ ratings, feedback, and reviews.

    This is why statistically, 77% of online shoppers turn to consumer reviews before they
    decide to buy!

    There’s a reason why Amazon, eBay, Sears, and pretty much every other major ecommerce site have
    customer
    ratings and reviews integrated into their website.
    It’s because online reviews have been proven to increase
    conversion, increase average transaction amounts, improve customer satisfaction, and even lower product
    returns!

    Check Out The Link In Signature

  23. Good way of explaining, and pleasant article to take information on the topic of my presentation subject, which i am going to
    convey in university.

  24. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will
    be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back
    very soon. I want to encourage you continue your
    great posts, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

