Skip to content

From The Community #7 – GP and VPN Connections

May 28, 2010

A question in the Dynamics GP forums was posted on the following issue:

We have a remote location which is currently accessing GP through terminal services.  We would like to have a more secure connection using a VPN connection.  Our partner has indicated that there may be issues with a VPN connection.  Has anyone tried it?  Is it working?  Is it supported?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.”

https://community.dynamics.com/forums/p/35405/61942.aspx

While it is not impossible to transmit data from a remote GP client to a headquartered GP server over a VPN connection, it just simply is not feasible.  The amount of data that is transmitted back and forth from a client to the server in GP is too great to expect any type of acceptable performance over a VPN connection (unless you are one of the lucky few to be chosen for Google’s Fiber).  The best scenario, and one that I practice in our business, is to have a secured VPN connection and run Remote Desktop (ala Terminal Server) over the VPN connection to a GP client located on the same network as the GP server.

From → Dynamics GP

5 Comments
  1. Perry Smith permalink

    I think everyone misunderstood the OP’s question. She wants to set up a VPN between a workstation and the corporate network. Then connect to the same Terminal Server running the GP Application.

    This is feasible. I have set it up for many clients that way.

    Perry

  2. Ron Wilson permalink

    That is what I understood as well and you are correct in your solution of how it will work. It didn’t sound to me like anyone misread the post. I think we are all saying the same thing. Thanks for your contributions! I see it is the first time you have posted both places … Welcome!

  3. Perry Smith permalink

    Ron,

    All of the replies were telling the user not to use a VPN because it is too slow. Which is true if the application is on the remote workstation.

    I had a co worker read the thread as well to ensure that I was understanding the question and responses were what I thought. I did not see one mention that it would work if the application is running on the Terminal Server.

    I have posted in the old forums before and will occasionally post elsewhere, depending how busy I am at the office and if I can add to the conversation.

    Been supporting GP since 1994

    Thanks for the welcome.

  4. I am sure this article has touched all the internet visitors, its really really nice paragraph on building up new blog.

  5. Thanks for writing this awesome article. I will come back for sure to check your future articles!

Leave a comment